There are window tinting restrictions set in California and is governed by California Vehicle Code section 26708. However, it’s a bit confusing to determine what is and isn’t allowed, especially when the law isn’t enforced equally. This post will answer the most commonly asked questions about California’s window tinting restrictions.
What Can You Put on Your Car Windows
Based on the California Vehicle Code section 26708 (a) VC, no object or material should be displayed, placed, installed, affixed, or applied on the windshield or side or rear windows.
Also, there should be no material or anything that can obstruct or reduce the driver’s clear view through the windshield or side windows.
What Is the Amount and Type of Tinting Allowed on Car Windows
The vehicle code allows for see-through tinted materials on windows based on the following:
- The material’s bottom edge is at least 29 inches above the undepressed driver’s seat when measure from a point five inches in front of the bottom of the backrest with the driver’s seat in its rearmost and lowermost position and the vehicle is on a level surface.
- The material is not red or amber.
- The material doesn’t contain opaque lettering and any other lettering.
- The material doesn’t reflect sunlight or headlight glare.
A clear material may be applied to car windows if:
- It has a minimum visible light transmittance of 88 percent.
- The window glazing meets the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 205 requirements. This includes the 70 percent allowable light transmittance and abrasion resistance of AS-14 glazing.
- The material is designed and manufactured to enhance the ability of existing window glass that can block UV rays.
- The driver has a certificate from the company that installed the window tint that states it meets all the requirements.
What Are the Consequences When You Get Caught with Tinted Windows That Don’t Comply with the Restrictions
You could get a fix-it ticket, a notice from the law enforcement officer stating what’s wrong with your car. It also comes with a warning to ensure your vehicle complies with the vehicle code as soon as possible.
On the other hand, if the officer you encounter is feeling not too generous, you may face a low-level violation of the law, which is also referred to as an infraction. Usually, you will be fined for this. The amount will be dictated by the California Uniform Bail Schedule.
However, certain counties such as Fresno, Tulare, Madera, and Kings counties are allowed by the state to exceed the Total Bail Amounts for traffic infractions.
How to Get Window Tinting in California
If you want to tint your car, truck, or motorcycle windows, you can get them tinted at many tint shops, dealerships, and even chain stores. However, make sure you are getting the right material and tinting based on the requirements.
Get Your Car Windows Tinted Properly
Regarding window tinting in California, there are certain restrictions on what you can and can’t apply to your car windows and windshield. The most important restriction to remember is that your windows must allow you to see clearly through them. You must also understand what the law regarding window tinting in California is.
Trust only a reliable car window tinting in Madera, CA, here at Cen Cal Tinting. We are a trusted auto restyling shop in Fresno—from window tinting, paint protection film, and ceramic coatings to vehicle wraps. Contact us!